Home Page

Governing Body

St Christopher’s Catholic Primary School - Governing Body 2023/24


Foundation Governors

Mrs R Byrne (Chair)

Father E Cain (Vice Chair)

Mrs L D’Arcy

Deacon P Mannings





Local Authority Governor

Ms. S. Calland


Parent Governors

Mrs N. Palombella  

Mr. S. Scullion


Staff Governor

Mr V Hall



Mrs N Harrop


Specialist/Link Governors

Safeguarding – Mr V Hall                                                                    SEND – Ms S Calland

Attendance – Mrs L D’Arcy                                                                  RE – Fr. E Cain/Dcn P Mannings

EYFS – Ms S Calland                                                                             Curriculum – Mrs R Byrne

English – Mrs R Byrne                                                                          Maths – Ms S Calland

Mental Health and Wellbeing – Mrs N. Palombella                        School Council – Mr V Hall

Pupil Premium and Sports Premium – Fr E Cain/Mrs R Byrne

Governor Information & Duties


St Christopher’s School Governors are members of the school’s Governing Body with responsibility for raising school standards through their three core strategic functions of: -


  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils; and
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

The Full Governing Body meet six times a year and there is a separate committee which scrutinises termly in more detail the school’s finance and resources.  There are other Committees which meet on an ad-hoc basis as required.
Outside of the formal committee meetings Governors visit classes and events, speak to staff and parents, attend training, receive reports and updates from the Headteacher and ensuring they know every aspect of the school.  The Governors are supported in their work by the Clerk to Governors who attends the committee meetings in a non-voting capacity.

Lists of the Committees and the membership, as well as governor information and attendance, are given below.